Hiraeth

Once I dreamed of a place
far up in the wind
A windswept room near the top of a volcanic plug
Like the Ship Rock or Devil’s Tower

In that dream I knew
that when I got there I’d look across the barren desert
and know complete peace

It not as though wastelands are vacant
There is an energy there that hums through the mesas
And I was there. . .
No, really
I was. . .

I was dragged back to this place
Pulled backward like a white lily to this place of sweat and noise
Blown backward
like an angle being pulled into the future
when all he really wanted
was to go back and fix the things he had broken. . .

Once I dreamed of a place
far up in the wind. . .

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

2 thoughts on “Hiraeth”

Leave a Reply

