Admissions ~ Lessons of the Jyn~Master

He is there
On the bluff overlooking the river
His clothes make him all but impossible to see
In this dim twilight

He is silent
So I approach him and stand quietly
Together we witness the stars
as they a poured into the tureen of the sky

‘If you are going to stand there
You may as well speak.’

‘Master
I have failed’

to the side of my head
Ouch
I hate when he does that
But this time it has little conviction

‘Student
You have not failed
You gave everything to the fight
I have witnessed this . . .
You only fail
when you hold a portion back.’

We stand in the silence of crickets
I hear him turn toward the river

‘Student
It
is the fight that you can not win
that defines you.’

‘Master
I won . . .’

This time almost gently

‘Student
Then how is it that you say you failed?’

‘I have won a fight
I never wanted . . .’

‘I took you into my house
fifty four years ago
And I wonder if you have heard a word said
In all that time.’

‘I should have avoided the fight . . .’

‘Who are you to question your Karma?
You have always moved within any dance
handed to you
And you have always danced
In step with the Heavens.
Now you complain because you
Could not control the Universe?’

Silence

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

2 thoughts on “Admissions ~ Lessons of the Jyn~Master”

Leave a Reply

