The Will of the Elders ~ Chyfrin the Wizard, Nuxy the Dragon

“Demashoul
a Guardian Class warrior asks admittance”

Nuxy leaped to full awareness posture
much to the damage and disarray of her playthings
“I know of no Demashoul Guardian Class
and I would that you pass my entryway
on the way to your business”
(A standard
if somewhat ill mannered response)

“Tyro Nuxy
I come on business of the Elders
and ask again that I be admitted. . .”

She stepped into the daylight
and coiled in one of the nooks beside the entrance
“Speak”

He withdrew the accustomed distance
and presented the most perfect dragon bow Nuxy had ever witnessed
“T’is thought wise by the Elders
that you might consider to an Accompaniment
upon completion of your Baccalaureate
on the next Full of the Lesser Moon”

She twisted and twined
as her kind are prone to do when perplexed
or frustrated
“Who among the Elders would presume such?”

“All of them”

“Am I summoned?”

“Nye and Neither
but if by chance you might be in the prox of the Chamber. . .”

“And when would such a meander be most welcomed?”

“A seventh-night might. . .”

“I am nothing but a merit-less tyro. . .”

“The Elders have discussed your merits and talents
and allowed me to attend.
Tyro Nuxy you are held in the highest regard”

The silence stretched for twenty-four heartbeats

“Demashoul
I ask that you might mention to the Elders
that it would please me greatly
if they might allow me to the Chamber on seventh-night”

With a speed that betrayed his size
Demashoul was gone

Nuxy trembled for several hours

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

