Segment #2 ~ Jennifer and the Dragon Finding the Truth

“How did you do that?”
“I did nothing.”
“When I read those symbols
That language
It changed me . . .”
“You were not changed
You were revealed.”
“What?”
“For reasons I can not fathom
You have chosen this form in this place.
It is not my function to question
Your decisions.”
“Those symbols changed me into a dragon.”
“You are a dragon.”
“That’s crap.”
“This inference eludes me.”
“I am not a dragon. Stop saying . . .”
“Please look at your hands.”
Her hands had scales like polished titanium
And claws of diamond
This displeased her
“Make it stop.”
“I can not.”
“Make it stop now!”
One of the guys from production chose that particular moment
To stick his head into her cubicle
“Cuse me Jennifer
I need another copy of the order form for the Maxwell guys.
Jen are you OK?”
“I am not OK.
Do I look OK?”
Her tail lashed around the desk and almost hit the man.
“You look sort of upset . . .”
“I’ll print a copy of the order and bring it to you.”
The guy left.
“How is it that he didn’t see . . .”
“As with most nons he sees what he chooses to see.”
“I’m a dragon for God’s sake.”
“Exactly.”
She flipped her desk over with and enraged scream
Then she exited the building
Other people peeked into her cubical after a respectful silence
At the water cooler all the following week
No one could explain how such a small woman
Could flip a heavy metal desk
Some speculated that it was one of those adrenalin things
But no one had the courage to ask her

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

2 thoughts on “Segment #2 ~ Jennifer and the Dragon Finding the Truth”

Leave a Reply

