The Problem With Hope ~ Hope part 2

She kept floating out of her hospital bed
They tried all kinds of things

Tying her down
Placing heavy weights on her chest
Playing Total Eclipse Of The Heart by Bonnie Tyler
They even gave her a glamour magazine and a mirror

Nothing worked
She claimed she wasn’t floating intentionally
(Who can tell with girls that age)

I loved too sit in the hospital chair
and watch her dark hair move
like it was some kind of magnetic field thing

Still didn’t know her name
She tried real hard to remember her real name
because she hated the name ‘Hope’
but she goes with it now
Girls. . .

Her nurses tell me she only likes to talk to me
and they are always glad to see me
even the head-shrinker

I don’t like that doctor
The other doctor, her real doctor likes me
and says I am good for Hope

The Shrinker says I am too young to give Hope
the complex emotional support that she needs
(I don’t think Ms Shrinker has a boyfriend
Not surprising)

I talk with Hope when I can
(I have a license now
and its kinda along the way to school)
I tell her about school and guy stuff
and she sometimes tells me things
but they are things that sound like stories
and faerie tales

I started reading faerie tales
and the old ones are so. . . grim
Like all those movies I watch with my friends
Movies I never liked

Hope’s eyes are very green

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

