I found him under a large rock (image by Aubrey Beardsley Date: 1893-1894)

I found him
Under a large rock
Next to a Hawthorne tree

And I tried to call to him
Figuring that if I could get him to wake. . .

You could almost hear the sound of his voice
Wind through the twining and twisting branches and bracken

He said
I am here because I loved a woman. . .
Well. . .
That and my hypothesis

Most of my assumptions have been based
on an underlying belief in the intrinsic decency
of my fellow human beings

Arthur as a child was so eager to please
And Nimue. . . the deceiver

It now seems
that while a number of respectable humans exist
(in hiding for the most part)
Semi-human sycophantic vampires have risen
All trappings of reason and decorum have been ripped away
and the commerce of semi-humanity has become the order of the day

I am under this rock
But not for the reasons you think
She put me here but I knew it all along
When she killed my love
she only put a mad dog out of its misery
After all the betrayals and squandering of my gifts
by those I loved and those who called me Mage
the burden of Hope was burned from my heart

Tis easier to remain here
than to face the wane light of this cold new day

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

