You were sand

As I come apart on this altar of your absence
In this temple of your silence

I long to touch your face
only one more time with my eyes

~

I held you in the flaming debris and shattered glass
That dark place smelling of gasoline

I held you as tight as i could. . .
I held you
but could not hold your soul in your body

You were sand
and the tighter i held you
the more quickly you slipped away

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

3 thoughts on “You were sand”

Leave a Reply

