Tia

Tia was an aunt to me
Ancient droid of my mother’s manufacture
There for me in my first moments
With a face so kind and caring

She wept with me when my first pet died
It was she that suggested that it might be buried
She laughed when I opened her present first
next Christmas and Shilo
the irish setter that she had selected and named
Because it reminded her of an old earth song

She nursed me in those fevered moments at the gates of delirium
I could she her face swimming through the fog
long after the others had tired and gone to rest
Her cool soft hands baptizing my forehead
Her soft mellow voice washing over me
songs and things we would do as soon as the fires of fever
were spent

My first bouts with passion
When we kept my mind clear and my heart open
She kept me from making a fool of myself
Small wonder that I introduced my promised bride first to her
I asked if mother would approve my mate
She reminded me that my happiness was central to my mother’s wishes
And she was right

Right but never angry
Kind but never afraid
Warm but never patronizing

My comptroller brought her to me today to decide her fate
He said that she doesn’t make the rounds nearly fast enough
And after all she is obsolete….

I changed her designation
And fired the fool that suggested I could replace her
She is now the Colony Mother
in charge of the next generation….

She will not be disassembled
as long as my hand can lift the tools
Of her resurrection

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

