Winter Solstice ~ Lunar Eclipse 2016 ~ human aspiration is worthy

Under the darkest sky of forever
She shivered
“I have at least two chambers in my heart
One is the part that beats faster
when I hear the Story. . .”

I poked about for some firewood that might still be dry
Dark, cold and wet
My least favorite combination

Casting a shadow haloed in a pewter night
She said
“I am such a sucker for romantic endings. . .
But the other chamber of my heart
insists that the Story is just a load of steaming crap
A self-inflicted internal monologue trying to enrich a pointless existence”

I pulled water proof matches from the liner of my wool jacket
patted myself till i found some dry paper
Poetry printed on it. . .
Oh well. . . I strike the match

She faced the part of the sky where the moon should be
and stood silent in the stillness of this, the darkest night

The tinder caught
sputtered
and the darkness fell back in deference to the growing light

I said
“Darkness is insidious
It takes the warmth from your days and shortens your life”

The smaller wood caught
The firelight somehow less timid
Her shadow danced the near trees

I said
“Its OK to suspend your disbelief on occasion
Not every second of every day, mind you
But to live
your heart must change its geometry
Crush. . . Release
Crush. . . Release
Crush. . . Release”

I held my hand out to her back
and she turned to face the light behind me

I pointed to the growing, glowing flame
“This is the True Magic
This night
This place
You. . .
All the story needed to prove
That human aspiration is worthy”

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

