this faded photograph

O gentle hand
that once touched a place inside me
a broken place

Tender heart
tender hand
your words are bitten by your teeth

yet. . .

Come little bird heart
there is a secret garden inside a story you once told me

Topiary sculpted by your gentle hand
stand as people posed
in gestures of kindness

Vast strange animals of Heaven
Heroes and maids
Undulating landscapes
within the chambers of your still beating heart

This anger is yours
and yea it eats me as well
but i would cast it from your heart
i would pry your fist open
if it would help

I would call forth the fires of the Earth
I would shout so loud that the wind would come to heal
I would . . .

no

As you have always known
i am but a smith of words
a troubled poet like yourself

All i have
all i can do
my one card to play
Is this faded photograph
you gave unto me
when i lived in darkness

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

