Love is the Monster ~ Songs of the Sea Witch

She commaned my silence
I answered
“Are you happy here?”

She said
“Run back to your fat duckling women
Be gone as all of your gender are known to be.”

“Will you have me admit my love?
Then know it
I offer myself as hostage
As victim.”

She said
“Ignorant land grubbing. . .
Trouble me no more with your pretense
I would hear your sobs of lamenttion before
hearing your false confessions of affection.”

“I love you
If you will hurt me then do it
I will count injury as the price I must pay for falling in love.”

She said
“Liar!
You can never love me. . .
I am a monster.”

“No
Love is the monster and it owns me
for I do love you.”

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

