In a land of fine appliances. . .

It’s one of those 1960’s houses
All straight lines and beveled contours
And its late
He’s missed dinner again
But that’s ok
He lives alone

I never thought
I’d face my self
All by myself

TV dinners have no TV in them
Just as hot dogs have no dog
And in the silence he turns it on
So as not to hear himself eating

I never thought
I’d face my self
All by myself

He’s watching science fiction
As his neurons process the day’s wage
And he’s wondering where he missed it
As he turns this empty page

I never thought
I’d face my self
All by myself

He sleeps
Dreaming of a good life
In a land of fine appliances. . .

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

5 thoughts on “In a land of fine appliances. . .”

      1. i have held many moments in my hands – moment that few can ever know or hope to know – they boil up in my heart – choke me – pour out of my mouth like a haemorrhaged prayer – spilling to become a silence – silent words on the screen
        that you now read

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

