You in the Summer Afternoon

Leaning toward the afternoons
in Summer

Afternoons that know
no need for umbrellas
no need of fire to warm us
no need for anything but lemonade
and your oceanic eyes

The blaze my self imposed solitude
a forgotten fire
a casing of empty armor
now . . .
somehow hollow

I smell like the sea
again
I search the beach and dunes
for a former thing
a thing I used to know
a thing I used to be

You keep only the moment
discard my darkness
cast away my distance

Your regard sometimes exposes fossilized bones
of ancient sea creatures
that lived on the coast of dread
Now extinct

Leaning toward the afternoons
in Summer
this Summer
I re-learn your oceanic eyes
Relearn the first stars
that flash like your soul when you love me
Tiny points of light in your eyes
speaking the tiny baby stars
fading into the world
when at length
this afternoon is done . . .

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

