I have no candles to light

Take this room from me
Take this day. . .
The day you retuned
A day not unlike a stretch of bad weather

Take this bread away from me
Pull the air from my lungs
that i might embarrass myself no further
in idle banter

You took away the rose
and now my eyes are tired
You left in the darkest hour
Your laughter
the unkindest cut of this fresh sword

I walk the sea in Winter
You took away Spring
I have no candles to light
I stand quiet in this place
pouring the blood of my words

Libation to an empty room
The room you have returned to haunt

Take this room from me

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

