Did you forget something?

What happened?
Why are you back?

As I remember you wanted to leave
because you felt too safe here
That you wanted to go into the unknown to find yourself
Guess you didn’t find much

How’d that work out for you?
You got the Miata
The upscale house
Made production engineer

Brass rings tend to leave green rings
around your heart
(Guess the whole merry-go-round metaphor is a bit tattered
from overuse)

As I remember, I was an idiot for remaining
and yet you’re back. . .
Did you forget something?

Did you forget the way I begged you to stay?
Forget that you drove a two by four through my chest?
That you cast me away like a stone
to sink into cold dark waters?

That you left me for dead. . .

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

3 thoughts on “Did you forget something?”

Leave a Reply

