The Measure of the Weight of Your Love

For a thousand years
I have held my breath
And known the measure of this rock
You have placed on my chest

For a thousand years
I have thought of every possible
Action
That would have yielded a different outcome

How can I hate you Lady
You who are made of water and sky
You held me in a fortress of hardened air

So many times I was so afraid
That you had abandoned me to the weight of the stone
The stone that you placed on me
The stone that held my eyes shut
like coins on the eyes of the dead
The stone that held my breath

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

