UFO’s, Aliens and Other Devices of Arcane Intent

essay

Hum, UFOs huh, and that blue book, I had a blue book once, spiral notebook I think.

Are there aliens? To quote Carl Sagan, “It’d be an awful waste of space if there wasn’t.” But I do not agree with Charleton Heston’s character in the original Planet of the Apes, to paraphrase, “I just can’t believe that the human race is the best that the Universe has to offer.” Maybe so, maybe not, don’t know. To quote Sagan again, “I have seen no compelling evidence that proves aliens have visited the Earth.” So I don’t know. Do I believe that aliens have landed, well yes, but my beliefs are different from what I know (I live in a divided mind). The human hand is one of the most bizarre and weird things I’ve ever seen and yet all kinds of critters have hands.

I guess the question comes down to this, can you live with ambiguity? Can you let something go and act on incomplete information? Well? Can you? This is not a rhetorical question.

What fascinates me is what people do with the aliens (both real and imagined), how do others and ourselves shape and reshape the ways and thoughts of the aliens. What does that say about us? I want to meet a mind that is totally alien, but then I would like to meet a mind that can think the way I do. Got it! I’m an alien! That explains so much when you think about it. I know a lot of people that want to be alien and that just makes them normal. OK, got that out of my system.

Here are a few thoughts on loving (and perchance dining on) the aliens.

Pax

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

