The Man With Two Hearts

In the gentle currents
of this amber autumn afternoon
I remember you

Remember
how you came to know first my skin
then the complex landscape
of tangled thoughts and organs beneath

I remember how your fingers peeled me like fruit
exposing first the flesh then the bones
my mind lain out on a blotter
a grad student’s most memorable dissection
got an award
as I remember

Surprised you said
“You have two hearts”
I would have laughed
if I could have pulled my self together

And now
In the gentle currents
of this amber autumn afternoon
I can hear only one heart beating

Published by

Chyfrin the Celtic poet

Artist, Poet, Electrical/Biomedical Engineer, Actor, Playwright, Set construction, Educator, Lover of womankind and single malt scotch

Leave a Reply

